Skip to main content

HI 450 / SO 420: Home

This guide is for students of American Nazism / Sociology of Hate course, Fall 2019.

Links to web resources

The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) and the Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) are prominent advocacy organizations that oppose racism and anti-Semitism, and inform mass media about these topics. Below are links to information from these organizations including designated lists of hate groups and related symbols and terms. 

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has published reported relevant to violent hate groups including an analysis of organizational strategies and structures, members, and ex-members. Below are links to documents. 

The FBI's COINTELPRO program (1956-1971) infiltrated domestic political organizations including anti-war and Civil Rights groups as well as White Supremacist organizations. Included below are publicly-available FBI files on White Hate Groups, most dating from the 1960s to 1971, and an index of other available files. 

Illinois State University's Voices of Extremism includes audio recordings made by extremists from across the political spectrum including Nazis and White Supremacists. Recordings are searchable by name, party affiliation and other criteria. 

Finding archived websites

The Wayback Machine is a free archive of websites from the late 1990s to the present. It's a good site for finding information about defunct organizations or those that have lost their web domains.

Notes about the site: 

  • This is not an exhaustive archive, so many sites are not represented while others may be missing weeks or months of coverage. The archive will display a calendar of dates for which a particular site was archived. 
  • You must use the original URL of the site you seek. Most organizations use their name in the URL (for example: Worcester.edu) so you can often make an educated guess. 
  • Learn more on the Internet Archive's blog or Lifewire's guide. 

Safely navigating the web

When visiting unfamiliar websites, be careful about clicking links, opening files, or sharing your email or other personal information.  Before beginning your online research, take a few moments to review the guide linked below from WSU's Information Technology Services:

Using copyrighted images

If you plan to use images in your project, you should first figure out copyright issues and the "Fair use" doctrine. 

The Four-Factor Test is a guide to whether you can or should use copyrighted images:

  • Purpose of use: Nonprofit, educational, scholarly or research use; transformative use such as repurposing, recontextualizing, creating a new purpose or meaning.
  • Nature or type of work: Published, fact-based content.
  • Amount Used: Using only the amount needed for a given purpose; Using small or less significant amounts.
  • Market Effect: If there would be no effect, or it is not possible to obtain permission to use the work.

MIT Provides a handy guide to the issue with links to public domain works that do not require copyright clearance:

Evaluating sources

How can you tell if a source is reliable or appropriate for your project? The C.R.A.A.P. Detector is a tool that helps you analyze a source for its reliability and relevance.